Legal Practice Section

Past Winners

In 2014–15, the award recipient was Rupert Watters, who made significant pro bono contributions to public interest environmental law, and the development of environmental case law.

In 2013–14, the Award recipient was Rebecca Nelson, a trailblazing environmental lawyer, and prolific environmental law writer with an outstanding national and international reputation. Ms Nelson had devoted countless hours to volunteer work in areas including Indigenous Australians entitlements to water.

In 2012–13, the Award recipient was Lindsey Pheloung-Beck, Associate Lawyer at Squire Sanders in Perth. Lindsey was nominated, for her significant contribution to environmental law including as a volunteer at the Environmental Defenders’ Office in WA, as the immediate past president of the Western Australian Chapter of the National Environmental Law Association, and as a lecturer at Murdoch University on Environmental, Sustainability and Climate Change Law.

In 2011–12, the Award recipient was Felicity Millner, Solicitor EDO Victoria, for her substantial contribution to environmental law and volunteer contributions to a variety of legal and environmental law organisations.

In 2010–11, the Award recipient was Larissa Waters, Solicitor EDO Queensland, for her outstanding contribution to public interest environmental law in the fields of community legal education, law reform, legal advice and casework.

In 2008–09, the Award recipient was Mark Seymour of Martin Place Chambers. Mark was the editor of the Environmental Law News for the Environmental Planning Law Association (NSW) and regularly reported for the Environmental Law Reporter. He took pro bono work for refugees in the Federal Court of Australia. Mark is 28.