International Law Section

ILS International Law and Practice Course

The ILS International Law and Practice Course is specifically designed for students and practitioners with an interest in international law.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the ILS International Law and Practice Course 3.0 will be presented in webinar format. Each webinar, expert speakers will share their knowledge and experience while discussing topical issues.

The ILS is pleased that this will enable Section members from across Australia to participate in the course, which will be presented by some of Australia’s leading international public law and private law experts.

ILS Section membership includes access to the ILS International Law and Practice Course 3.0. If you are not a member, you can sign up to become one here.

If you wish to register your interest for the course, please contact the ILS Administrator.

Course details 

The course is comprised of a series of eight monthly webinars from 5:00-6:30pm. Past events can be viewed by ILS members, under the 'Course Resources' webpage. 

Lecture One: Rule of Law Issues in the South Pacific

21 July 2020

Guest speakers include, the Hon. Michael Kirby AC CMG, the Hon. Justice Martin Daubney AM, and
Dr Gordon Hughes AM.


Lecture Two: The Paris Agreement and Climate Litigation

18 August 2020

Guest speaker The Hon. Justice Brian Preston FRSN SC.

Lecture Three: Masterclass in International Trade Law & Practice

15 September 2020

Guest speakers include, Mr Russell Miller AM, Dr Ross Becroft and Dr Martyn Taylor. 

Lecture Four: The Challenges for the Regulation of Outer Space: Balancing International Law, Technology and Geopolitics

20 October 2020

Guest speakers include, Professor Steven Freeland and Fred Chilton.

Lecture Five: Tackling Modern Slavery: A Review of the Effectiveness of the National Action Plan to Combat Human Trafficking and Slavery in Australia

17 November 2020

Guest speakers include, Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher AM FRSA FACLM (Hon) FAAL TEP, Mr Kevin Hyland OBE and Ms Anne O'Donoghue.