SME Conference 2018

Melbourne, 26 October 2018

Chaired by Meghan Warren, the SME Committee of the Business Law Section, Law Council of Australia welcomes you to attend our annual conference in Melbourne on 26 October 2018, alongside key lawyers, policy makers, regulators and other stakeholders in the SME space. 2018 is again shaping up to be a big year for SMEs.

Dress code the for event: business attire. 

Key Speakers

Judy O'Connell, Victorian Small Business Commissioner
Judy has extensive public sector experience working with small businesses, with a public service career of over 30 years. Judy comes from a family of small business owners – both her father and two sisters operate their own businesses. In December 2016, Judy O’Connell commenced as the Victorian Small Business Commissioner, where she advocates to make sure Victorian small businesses have a fair and competitive environment whilst running their business. Judy also manages the quick, low cost dispute resolution service for small business.

Mick Keogh, ACCC Deputy Chair - Small Business
Mick Keogh is currently the Commissioner leading the work of the ACCC’s Agriculture Unit and has been the Executive Director of the Australian Farm Institute since 2003. Mr Keogh brings with him experience from his involvement in the ACCC’s work on agriculture matters and the Horticulture Code, and engagement with key industry associations.



Ticket type Cost
BLS members  $450.00
Non-members  $500.00

Registration includes:

**Note** - Please email the BLS Administrator if you do not consent to your name being listed on the delegate list. 

Event Program

You can read the full program here.

Time Session
8.30am- 8.50am Registration
8.50am-9.00am Welcome - Meghan Warren, Chair SME Committee
9.00am- 10.00am Session 1: Safe Habour, Phoenix and Statutory Liability of  Directors
Chair: Hank Spier, SME Committee Member
Speaker: Jon Clarke, SME Committee Member
10.00am-10.20am Morning tea
10.20am-11.20am Session 2: Creating a level playing field for small business
Chair: Meghan Warren, SME Committee Chair
Speaker: Judy O'Connell, Victoria Small Business Commissioner
11.20am-12.20pm Session 3: Australian Small Business and Family Enterprise Ombudsman for SMEs
Chair: Bronwyn Gallacher, SME Committee Member
Speaker: Dr. Craig Latham, ASBFEO Deputy Ombudsman
12.20pm-1.10pm Lunch and networking
1.10pm-2.10pm Session 4: Franchising - SME Issues & the Future of Franchsing
Chair: Jon Clarke, SME Committee Member
Speaker: Alan Wein & Derek Sutherland, SME Committee Members
2.10pm-3.10pm Session 5: ACCC Small Business and Franchising Team Updates
Chair: Michael Terceiro, SME Committee Member
Speaker: Mick Keogh, Kristie Pinuita and David Salisbury, ACCC, Small Business and Franchising Consultative Committee
3.10pm-3.30pm Afternoon tea
3.30pm-4.30pm Session 6: Law - Process and Communication for small business people
Chair: Coralie Kenny, SME Committee Member
Speaker: Peter Strong, COSBOA CEO
4.30pm Closing remarks: Meghan Warren, Chair SME Committee


6 points will be available. For participants from WA there will be a signing in and out sheet at the registration desk.


T. (02) 6246 3788

Sorry ! This event is not available at the moment