Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Business Law Section

Baxt Prize

The Baxt Prize honours the contribution of Professor Robert (‘Bob’) Baxt AO to business law in Australia.

The Baxt Prize recognises Professor Baxt’s longstanding involvement with, and commitment to, the Business Law Section of the Law Council of Australia (BLS). Professor Baxt was a founding member of the BLS, served on three BLS committees (chairing two of them), served as an Executive member for more than 30 years, and was the Section Chairman from 2001 – 2003. Professor Baxt was instrumental in creating the annual Competition Workshop which is, and has been for some years, the pre-eminent workshop in this field in Australia.

Professor Baxt practised and published extensively in the fields of trade practices, corporate law and taxation law, and had a longstanding commitment to legal education. After serving as Dean of Law at Monash University from 1980 – 1988 and Chairman of the Australian Trade Practices Commission from 1988 – 1991, Professor Baxt was a partner of Allens from 1991 – 2004 and a partner (later Emeritus Partner) of Herbert Smith Freehills from 2005 – 2017. He was also a professorial Fellow of the University of Melbourne, Chairman of the Law Committee of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and the founder and general editor of the Australian Business Law Review and the Company and Securities Law Journal.

Professor Baxt was a recipient of the Centenary Medal and was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2003 for services to law.

Throughout the many phases of his extensive legal career in academia, administration and practice, Professor Baxt held a deep interest in the professional development of young lawyers.

Baxt Prize 2021 round

The 2021 round for the Baxt Prize is now closed.

The Baxt Prize honours the contribution of Professor Robert (‘Bob’) Baxt AO to business law in Australia. In 2021, the Baxt Prize will be awarded for an outstanding journal article on a topic related to Australian trade practices, corporate law or taxation law published in an A* or A ranked journal between 1 July 2020 and 30 June 2021 by an author under the age of 35.

How to apply

Applications must be submitted on an official application form. Please submit applications to

If you have any questions about the Baxt Prize, please contact the BLS Administrator, Jessica Morrow via email or phone 02 6246 3737.


Previous winners

Accordion Container : Accordion 11


Related Documents

Most recent items in Business Law Section

Trending Items in Business Law Section