Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

About Us

Australian Young Lawyer Awards

The Australian Young Lawyer Awards is conducted annually by the Law Council of Australia's Young Lawyers' Committee and recognises excellence in young (or early career) lawyers and young lawyer organisations.

To be eligible for the award, a nominee must either be a young or early career lawyer who has made a continuous and outstanding contribution to the profession and the community, or alternatively, a young lawyer organisation that has implemented a program relating to professional or community issues over the preceding financial calendar year.

Nominations for the 2022 Australian Young Lawyer Awards have now closed. 

The winners will be announced at the National Golden Gavel in late 2022.

2021 Winners

Australian Young Lawyer of the Year

The 2021 Australian Young Lawyer of the Year is Kendra Turner. Kendra was admitted to practice in December 2020. She is a member of Corrs Chambers Westgarth’s national Diversity and Inclusion program, through which she has presented locally and nationally on the importance of diversity and inclusion in the workplace.

Kendra is a Management Committee Member of the Society of African Australian Lawyers Inc., a not-for-profit which she helped launch and which aims to improve access to justice in Western Australia, particularly within the African community.

She has also worked with the youth-run Indigenous Communities Education and Awareness Foundation and undertaken a secondment to the Aboriginal Legal Services of WA, assisting lawyers in its Civil and Human Rights team. In addition, Kendra has volunteered at national and international not-for-profit organisations, including the Women’s Legal Service WA, Tenancy WA, and Legal Aid Cambodia.

The Law Council had the opportunity to interview Ms Turner. Read the interview here.

Australian Young Lawyer Organisation Award

The 2021 Organisation Award was presented to LIV Young Lawyers (YL). LIV YL was recognised for its ‘Young Lawyers Bootcamp 2021’. The Young Lawyers Bootcamp was held for the first time this year and was designed to address a gap in the support of students from legal study through to practice. It was delivered virtually using interactive technologies.

Over 1,000 people registered across four workshops covering topics including Study and Practice of Law and Reading and Understanding the Law. The Bootcamp highlighted that law students graduate with multiple skills and encouraged lateral thinking on how to use their learning in all expressions of legal practice, including in legal technology, policy, government and education roles.

The Law Council had the opportunity to interview the LIV Young Lawyers. Read the interview here.




For more information about the Awards please contact:

Ms Natalie Cooper
T. 02 6246 3724


Related Documents

Most recent items

Trending Items