The Law Council is committed to taking measures that ensure a level playing field for all members of the Australian legal profession. A major step towards this goal is the development of a National Model Gender Equitable Briefing Policy, which briefing entities now have the opportunity to adopt.

The Policy includes interim and long term targets with the ultimate aim of briefing women in at least 30 per cent of all matters and paying 30 per cent of the value of all brief fees by 2020.

The Policy is intended to drive cultural change within the legal profession, support the progression and retention of women barristers, and address the significant pay gap and underrepresentation of women in the superior courts.

The Policy was adopted by the Directors of the Law Council of Australia on Saturday 18 June 2016 and is a major step for the legal profession towards the goal of improving the briefing of women barristers across the country.

The Policy is available for adoption by any briefing entity, including organisations and counsel in addition to clients of briefing entities operating in Australia. The selection of counsel is ultimately the decision of the client, and in-house counsel are encouraged to adopt and apply the Policy when instructing briefing entities and making their selections of barristers.

Your entity can adopt the National Model Gender Equitable Briefing Policy by signing up below.

First Name(*)
Please enter your first name

Last Name(*)
Please enter your last name

Job Title(*)
Please enter your job title

Email Address(*)
Please enter your email address

Company Name(*)
Please enter your company name

You need to agree to the terms and conditions

I agree to the terms and conditions

Attach your company logo (for inclusion on this webpage only. This is not a required field)
* Denotes mandatory fields


Organisations that have adopted the Policy: 

57c9102a0cbcd LS Logo Vertical 57cfbf5fed444 2. NSW Bar Association vertical lockup  581697766076c LIV Logo RGB 600dpi
NT bar 57d0fd088b10b Law Society Master TM Logo CMYK  57d9028e08fc7 THELAWSOCIETYLOGONO TAGHIGHRES
57d63532e4d07 LSNT Logo RGB dark midnight blue small  aba logo   TheLawSociety Logo HOR CMYK
5614c3223a78c sabar1 wabar
allens web ashurst web bakermckenzie web
claytonutz web  DLA Piper 285 herbertsmith web
kwm web 582e499380377 JPG Short 2 Colour Maddocks Logo  ME Logo AW BLACK RGB
nortonrose web telstra web  Westpac W Logo CMYK
57df5c79d0ac9 Logo 1800px High Res  HLPN   581274d462254 TBA copy
 57e23399a3e34 KREISSON LOGO BLUE  57e86a2f72965 VMware grey logo transparent  57e88df0bbcee smllogo 200792 print
 57f3207fc2380 DEN Main Identity 00000002 57f4b1c047fb0 MCR CMYK edge   ll gold
aeromancy  58224be9472ec GT landscape logo pos MASTER logo master suite RGB  58200d74b7cf7 TC PMS Logo
583795550e958 GWC Logo   583cb14c02496 KS Logo CMYK 2013 584730cdeb7c8 WLAQ 1 Copy 
5848e8f3664cc IMG 2075
 584de9f30fed3-ACC Australia-LR.jpg 585868e873fbb-CDPPINT_INLINE_RGB.jpg

586afae8d8ffd Helix mark pos CMYK lge 
 5876b5f6f3df4 Corrs logo small
wow web 

589415354d335 FWO logo inline BW with Line small


Counsel who have adopted the Policy:

  • Ms Larissa Andelman
  • Ms Julia Baird SC, New Chambers
  • Ms Justine Beaumont, Nigel Bowen Chambers
  • Ms Hayley Bennett, New Chambers
  • Ms Victoria Brigden, Eight Selborne Chambers
  • Ms Patricia Cahill SC, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Ms Melanie Cairns, 7 Wentworth Selborne
  • Mr Adam Casselden SC, Greenway Chambers
  • Mr David Catterns QC, Nigel Bowen Chambers
  • Ms Liz Cheeseman SC, New Chambers
  • Mr Philip Crutchfield QC
  • Ms Kate Eastman SC, Six St James Hall Chambers
  • Ms Courtney Ensor, New Chambers
  • Mr Steven Finch SC, Tenth Floor
  • Ms Catherine Gleeson, New Chambers
  • Ms Sophie Goddard SC, Nigel Bowen Chambers
  • Mr Steve Gordon, Douglas Steven Gordon
  • Ms Sarah Heesom, Heesom Legal
  • Ms Elspeth Hensler, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Ms Taruna Heuzenroeder, Murray Chambers
  • Ms Zoe Hillman, Eight Selborne
  • Ms Dominique Hogan-Doran SC
  • Mr Justin Hogan-Doran, 7 Wentworth Selborne
  • Mr Matthew Howard SC, Francic Burt Chambers
  • Mr Benjamin Jacobs, Greenway Chambers
  • Mr Matt Karam, New Chambers
  • Ms Janelle Kerrisk, Helix Legal
  • Ms Caroline Kirton QC
  • Ms Grace Lawson, Queensland Bar
  • Ms Rebecca Lee, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Mr Paul Livingstone, Frederick Jordan Chambers
  • Ms Chrissa Loukas SC, Public Defenders Chambers
  • Ms Emma Luck, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Mr Anthony McGrath SC, 12 Wentworth Selborne Chambers
  • Ms Fiona McLeod SC, Victorian Bar
  • Mr David McLure SC, New Chambers
  • Mr Arthur Moses SC, New Chambers
  • Mr Wayne Muddle SC, Independent Counsel
  • Mr Edward Muston SC, 7 Wentworth Selborne
  • Ms Jane Needham SC
  • Mr Patrick O'Sullivan QC
  • Ms Michelle Painter SC, Nine Selborne Chambers
  • Ms Olivia Perkiss, Alfred Lutwyche Chambers
  • Ms Jane Rawlings
  • Mr Gary Rich SC, 5th Floor St James Hall
  • Ms Sarah Roach, Helix Legal
  • Ms Alexandra Rose, 12 Wentworth Selborne Chambers
  • Ms Sarah Russell, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Mr Lee-May Saw, Frederick Jordon Chambers
  • Mr Richard Scruby, Tenth Floor Chambers
  • Mr John Sheahan QC, 5 Wentworth
  • Mr Justin Simpkins, New Chambers
  • Mr Angus Stewart SC, New Chambers
  • Ms Sonia Tame, New Chambers
  • Mr Ingmar Taylor SC, Greenway Chambers
  • Ms Julie Taylor, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Mr Tom Thawley, New Chambers
  • Ms Brenda Tronson, Level 22 Chambers
  • Ms Irene Watson, University of South Australia