Diverse and inclusive legal workplaces help to build a strong and respected legal profession. A major step towards this goal has been the development of a Diversity and Equality Charter, which organisations now have the opportunity to adopt.

This Charter is a statement of principles to acknowledge publicly a commitment to diversity and equality by the Australian legal profession. It is based on the principles of justice, integrity, equity and the pursuit of excellence upon which this profession is founded.

The Charter was unanimously adopted by legal profession leaders at the Law Council of Australia’s National Attrition and Re-engagement Study Workshop in May 2015 and is a significant step for the legal profession in progressing the critical issue of diversity and equality.

The Charter is available for adoption by law societies, bar associations, law firms, chambers and other entities associated with the legal profession.

The Law Council has created a logo which can be used by those organisations who formally adopt the Charter to publicly acknowledge their commitment to its principles.

Your organisation can adopt the Diversity and Equality Charter by signing up below.

Diversity and Equality Charter sign up

First Name(*)
Please enter your first name

Last Name(*)
Please enter your last name

Job Title(*)
Please enter your job title

Email Address(*)
Please enter your email address

Company Name(*)
Please enter your company name

You need to agree to the terms and conditions

I agree to the terms and conditions

Attach your company logo (for inclusion on this webpage only. This is not a required field)
* Denotes mandatory fields


Organisations that have adopted the Charter:


6sjh 12 wentworth
advent balance  allens logo
 aeromancy alpha family 
 arnold thomas barker ashurst 
aust bar assoc   aust lawyers human rights
 aust women lawyers bar act 
 bar assoc qld bar nsw 
 bar nt  bar sa
bar tas  bar vic 
bar wa   bucket orange
 carter newell claytonutz 
colin biggers  corrs 
cowell clarke   denning
 gotocourt  griffin legal
griffith chambers harwood andrews
henry davis york herbert smith
hume taylor jarman mckenna
king wood mallesons law inst vic
law society act law society nsw
law society nt law society qld
law society sa law society tas
law society wa legal vision
ligeti partners ll gold
lv27 chambers lynch meyer
matthew verney lawyers maurice blackburn
moisson lawyers moody legal
moulis legal mullins
new chambers norton rose
piddington   pragma
 roma mitchell searl street 
shine lawyers  sladen legal 
Swaab taylor scott
Tindall Gask Bentley tress cox
uni monash uni sa
women lawyers act women lawyers nsw
women lawyers nt women lawyers qld
women lawyers sa women lawyers vic
women lawyers wa wotton kearney

Sole practitioners who have adopted the Charter:

  • Ms Jennifer Batrouney QC
  • Ms Patricia Cahill SC, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Mr Adam Casselden SC, Greenway Chambers
  • Ms Kerry Clark, Murray Chambers
  • Mr Joshua Creamer, Griffith Chambers
  • Ms Kate Eastman SC, 6 St James Hall Chambers
  • Ms Patricia Feeney, Griffith Chambers
  • Mr Patrick Griffin SC, 7 Garfield Barwick Chambers
  • Mr Chris Gunson, Derwent & Tamar Chambers
  • Mr Guy Hampson, Griffith Chambers
  • Ms Elspeth Hensler, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Ms Kylie Hillard, Griffith Chambers
  • Ms Dominique Hogan-Doran SC
  • Mr Matthew Howard SC, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Ms Carolyn Kelly, Carolyn Kelly Legal
  • Ms Caroline Kirton QC
  • Ms Rebecca Lee, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Ms Emma Luck, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Ms Rodica Gazii
  • Mr Eoin Mac Giolla Ri, Griffith Chambers
  • Mr Anthony McGrath SC, 12 Wentworth Selborne Chambers
  • Ms Fiona McLeod SC
  • Mr John Merrell, Griffith Chambers
  • Ms Claire O'Connor SC, Villeneuve Smith Chambers
  • Mr Callan O'Neill, 12 Wentworth Selborne Chambers
  • Ms Michelle Painter SC, Nine Selborne Chambers
  • Ms Jane Rawlings
  • Mr Matthew Ray, Craig Ray & Associates
  • Mr Peter Roney QC, Griffith Chambers
  • Ms Sarah Russell, Francis Burt Chambers
  • Ms Laura Sime, Murray Chambers
  • Mr Steven Stevens, Stenas Legal
  • Ms Heather Stokes, Legoe Chambers
  • Mr Manuel Varitimos QC
  • Ms Danae Younger, Griffith Chambers