Constituent Bodies & Directors

Constituent Bodies

The Law Council is a federal organisation representing approximately 60,000 Australian legal professionals through its constituent member Bar Associations and Law Societies (known as ‘Constituent Bodies’).

There are 17 Constituent Bodies including the Law Firms Australia.



The Directors govern the Law Council, and meet quarterly to set objectives, policy, and priorities for the Council. The Directors are selected by representation of the Constituent Bodies. Between meetings of Directors, policy and governance responsibility for the Law Council is exercised by the Elected Executive, led by the President.

Selected Directors

  • Ms Jennifer Batrouney QC
  • Mr Geoff Bowyer
  • Mr David Caruso
  • Ms Sue Brown QC
  • Ms Pauline Wright
  • Mr Bill Potts
  • Mr Nicholas McBride
  • Mr Ken Archer
  • Mr Bill Griffiths
  • Mr Andrew Harris QC
  • Mr Martin Hockridge
  • Mr Tass Liveris
  • Mr Christopher Gunson
  • Ms Chrissa Tereasa Loukas SC
  • Mr Matthew Howard SC
  • Mr Ben O'Loughlin
  • Ms Elizabeth Needman

Elected Executive

  • Mr Stuart Clark AM
  • Ms Fiona McLeod SC
  • Mr Morry Bailes
  • Mr Arthur Moses SC
  • Mr Michael Fitzgerald
  • Mr Konrad de Kerloy